Student Activities


Play an intramural sport, join a club or organization, participate in service projects or take advantage of leadership opportunities. Sing, dance or engage in an organized activity such as Frisbee golf, pool or paint ball. Then relax with friends at the Internet Cafe, Hartness Student Center, Cyber Lounge or in a hammock on the front lawn. Whether you want to pursue your passions, explore new opportunities or simply decompress from studies, there’s plenty to do at Wesleyan.

Choose how you want to get involved…

Clubs and Organizations

3W College Ministry
3W develops individuals by teaching the Word of God which produces Worship through relationship with Christ & Works based in faith! In addition to various events throughout the year, we meet once a week for in-depth teaching and open conversations that are real and relevant for everyone! Advisor: Teikisha Anderson, tanderson@ncwc.edu


African Student Association
To promote African Culture on the NCWC campus and to promote the importance of service. ASA is a subgroup of our International Bishops Association. Advisor: Dr. Katrina Sweet, ksweet@ncwc.edu


Anime and Manga Club
Our purpose is to create our own manga and to enjoy what members like in the Anime and Magna world so members can connect in friendship to each other as Anime and Manga enthusiasts. To encourage enthusiasts of Anime and Magna to join a friendly group setting to express their interests. Advisor: Dr. Julie Perino, jperino@ncwc.edu

 

Bishop Films
Bishop Films is a social organization that is founded on the principles of freedom of speech, creative expression and productive collaboration. It is through these principles that we make our mark on the video industry. Advisor: Ian Boucher, iboucher@ncwc.edu

 

Bishop Gold Squad
Bishop Gold Squad is a “Hype Squad” that uses choreographed percussive dance, rhythmic foot stomping and hand clapping. Advisor: Atayh Spells, aspells@ncwc.edu

 

Black Student Association
The purpose of the Black Student Association is to provide support, community and cultural engagement to minorities on campus. Advisor: Atayh Spells, aspells@ncwc.edu


Covenant Campus Ministries
Covenant Campus Ministries exists to glorify God through making disciples of all people by the powerful Gospel of Jesus Christ. We are a people passionate about Jesus, His Church and His Word. We love to study His Word, worship Him and have great fellowship with one another. We also have a heart for Discipleship, Evangelism and Missions. Advisor: Johnathan Tyndall, jt@cccrm.org


Criminal Justice Club
The purpose of the North Carolina Wesleyan College Criminal Justice Club is to educate students regarding the various components of the growing criminal justice field: law enforcement, courts and corrections. Advisor: Richard Ausbrook, rausbrook@ncwc.edu

 

Exercise Science Club
The purpose of the Exercise Science Club is to provide students of Exercise Science an opportunity to establish a connection between NCWC and the community of Rocky Mount through fitness & wellness events. This will be achieved by promoting social, academic and professional relationships both on and off campus. Advisor: Dr. Daniel Henderson, dhenderson@ncwc.edu


Fellowship of Christian Athletes

The Fellowship of Christian Athletes is a campus ministry that meets weekly for the purpose of discipleship, evangelism, outreach and fellowship using the platform of athletes. Advisor: Carol Carson, ccarson@ncwc.edu


Food for Thought
Food for Thought strives to broaden culinary experiences by exposing students to various culinary traditions across the world. Advisor: Terrence Martin, tmartin@ncwc.edu

 

Gen U.N. Wes
The purpose of Gen U.N. Wes is to expand awareness of U.N. priorities to the Wesleyan body and raise enthusiasm among students for the United Nations. Gen U.N. Wesleyan also coordinates with other Gen U.N. chapters across the United States. Advisor: Dr. Young Hun Kim, ykim@ncwc.edu


Impact
The Wesleyan Business Society or “Impact” is a society for business school majors and minors that promotes practical education and application of business concepts through a business-style application process. The society incorporates: guest speakers from the field of business, group discussions, networking and collaboration meetings, and projects designed to improve and prepare the individual for the business field. This is a high engagement and commitment society with immense personal advancement potential. In short, this society is designed to emulate business fundamentals that reflect real world experience. Advisor: Esther Burgess, eburgess@ncwc.edu


International Bishop Association
The International Bishop Association seeks to promote cultural awareness, provide opportunities for students to participate in activities of cultural and international interest, and to provide advocacy and support for the NCWC International Community. Advisor: Brent Dozier, bdozier@ncwc.edu

 

National Society of Leadership & Success
The NSLS is the nation’s largest leadership honor society. Students are selected by their college for membership based on either academic standing or leadership potential. Candidacy is a nationally recognized achievement of honorable distinction. Advisor: Jessie Langley, jlangley@ncwc.edu

Psychology Club
The Psychology Club is open to people that major in Psychology and/or have an interest in the field. We follow a constitution that was created by members and executive board. Members have taken the responsibility of running the club and its successful events. Advisor: Dr. Fred Sanborn, fwsanborn@ncwc.edu


Refuge Campus Ministries
Refuge Campus Ministries allows students to learn and grow in their walk with Jesus Christ. With a laid-back and friendly atmosphere, students commune together to enjoy food and fellowship. Our goal is to spread the love of Jesus with the campus of NC Wesleyan and beyond its serpentine walls. Advisor:  Barry Drum, bpdrum@ncwc.edu


Rotaract Club
Rotary is a sponsored service club sponsored by the local Rotary Club for men and women ages 18-30. Rotary consists of community, professional and networking activities. Advisor: Eddie Coats, ecoats@ncwc.edu

 

R.O.T.C
The purposes of the ROTC Club is to help improve the overall quality of the Army ROTC program at NCWC, enhance the professional and academic development of the cadets, as well as provide services to its membership and to the College. Advisor: James Mercer, jmercer@ncwc.edu

 

Student Advocating for Equality (S.A.F.E)
SAFE Seeks to educate and acknowledge all groups and spectrums of specific sexualities and genders, allowing for better understanding and communication amongst LGBTQ people and allies to form a tolerating and accepting community on this campus. Advisor: Dr. Molly Wyatt, mwyatt@ncwc.edu

 

Science Club
The purpose of the Science Club is encourage students to pursue careers in science-related fields and to keep the college and community informed on health related issues, as well as participate in community service. Advisor: Dr. Daniel Stovall, dstovall@ncwc.edu


Sigma Tau Delta
International English Honor Society for four year college students that focuses on literacy and education. Advisor: Dr. Lee Templeton, ltempleton@ncwc.edu

 

Student Athlete Advisory Committee
The mission statement of the Student Athlete Advisory Committee at North Carolina Wesleyan College is to improve the experience of student athletes on campus and in our conference and to help the community that we live in. Advisor: Kohl Orner, korner@ncwc.edu

 

Student North Carolina Association of Educators (SNCAE)
SNCAE helps to inform those enrolled in the Education program. We help organize students by offering workshops to prepare for future tasks. We are also there to support all of our students. Advisor: Dr. Patricia Brewer, pbrewer@ncwc.edu

 

Student Veteran Association
The purpose of the Student Veterans Association is to provide military veterans with the resources, support, and advocacy needed to succeed in higher education and following graduation. Advisor: Dr. Angela Foster, afoster@ncwc.edu

 

The “B” Club
The B Club’s purpose is to bring biodiversity to Wesleyan through the promotion of ideas that will bring new animals and plants to campus. We are here to maintain the bee hive that will placed on campus along with maintaining future bird houses, bird baths, and plants that will be brought to campus for the attraction of bats, birds, and butterflies. We are also acting as advocates for sustainability and environmental protection and conservation. We also educate the campus and community on conservation, preservation, and biodiversity. Advisor: Ayra Sundbom, asundbom@ncwc.edu

 

Ultimate Frisbee Club
To advance the sport of Ultimate Frisbee in the United States by enhancing and promoting Character, Community, and Competition within the area of Ultimate Frisbee. Advisor: Daniel Elias, delias@ncwc.edu

 

Voices of Triumph
We are a group of young adult college students who dare to step out and be different in word, thoughts, and our actions.  We don’t just sing!  We are the songs that we minister.  We are believers!  We are victorious!  We are intelligent!  We are VOT!!! Advisor: Erma Hedgepeth, ehedgepeth@ncwc.edu

 

WesCIS (Computer Science Club)
The computer science club is an extracurricular study based group for anyone who is interested in computer technology or information systems to help improve ourselves, our communities and, our knowledge of computers. Advisor: Sherry Holland, sholland@ncwc.edu

NCWC Current Internationally Recognized Greek Organizations

Alpha Kappa Alpha Crest

Alpha Kappa Alpha (Tau Gamma Chapter) Sorority, Inc.

The purpose of Alpha Kappa Alpha is to cultivate and encourage high scholastic and ethical standards, to promote unity and friendship among college women, to study and alleviate problems among girls and women, to maintain a progressive interest in college life, and to be of service to all mankind. Advisor: Janet Morrison, jmorrison@ncwc.edu

Alpha-Phi-Alpha fraternity seal

Alpha Phi Alpha (Omicron Beta Chapter) Fraternity, Inc.

Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. is the first African American Greek-letter organization. Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. was founded on December 4, 1906 at Cornell University in Ithaca, New York. Advisor: Aaron Meade, ameade@ncwc.edu

Delta Phi Epsilon Sorority Crest

Delta Phi Epsilon (Gamma Phi Chapter) Sorority

Our mission is to develop a social consciousness and commitment to think and act for the greater good in women. We assure continuous development and achievement for women through individual attention and strategic growth. Advisor: Lynne Patterson,  mpatterson@ncwc.edu

Kappa Alpha Psi Crest

Kappa Alpha Psi (Eta Psi Colony) Fraternity

Kappa Alpha Psi is a Greek Letter Association founded on the concept of achievement. Their motto is Achievement in every human endeavor. KAP was founded on the campus of Indiana University in 1911. Advisor: Michael Moseley,  mmoseley@ncwc.edu

Omega-Psi-Phi logo

Omega Psi Phi Fraternity

Omega Psi Phi is founded Manhood, Scholarship, Perseverance and Uplift. Omega Psi Phi was the first fraternal organization founded on a historically black college campus. Advisor: James Mercer,  jmercer@ncwc.edu

NC Wesleyan students on wall

Student Entertainment & Activities Team

The Student Entertainment & Activities Team (S.E.A.T.) is comprised of students who select, plan, and implement activities and entertainment with both social and educational dimensions in conjunction with the Director of Student Activities. These events vary and may include comedians, novelty acts, concerts, trips, dances, homecoming week, spring fling week, and much more.

All students are encouraged to play an active role in S.E.A.T. It is a great way to meet other students and learn skills outside of the classroom. Whether it is program planning, publications and promotions, or helping with the events, S.E.A.T. provides fellowship and helps foster a spirit of community. If you are interested in becoming a member of S.E.A.T. or applying for an executive council position, please contact the Director of Student Activities at esmith@ncwc.edu.

Student Government Association

North Carolina Wesleyan College’s Student Government Association (SGA) is responsible for addressing student concerns, allocating funds, and supervising the Association’s committees. Officers of the SGA are elected by the students each year to conduct student government business. Students who are not elected to executive positions may also participate in a variety of ways. Every student is encouraged to become active in student government through participating in elections, attending meetings, becoming involved in committees, and by contributing ideas and concerns through their elected representatives.

2019-2020 SGA EXECUTIVE BOARD

President: Thomas Clark, TC249152@my.ncwc.edu

Vice President: Kenneth Jefferson, KJ243187@my.ncwc.edu

Secretary: Rebecca Mitchell, RM254733@my.ncwc.edu

Treasurer: Timothy Marinos, TM232909@my.ncwc.edu

nc Wesleyan SGA logo

Hartness Student Center

Open Daily 10:00 a.m. - Midnight
  • Game Room – Come play pool, table tennis, corn hole, Xbox One and Nintendo Wii games, watch television or simply hang out!
  • Cyber Lounge – Available for students to host events, hang out, watch TV, play video games or study!
  • WoW Cafe – An evening dining location that serves American cuisine and specialty chicken wings. The eatery is open Monday – Thursday, 7:00 p.m.- 11:30 p.m. 
  • Leadership Lab – An area equipped with resources where student club and organization leadership teams can plan for upcoming activities.
  • Offices – S.E.A.T, SGA, and the Director of Student Activities. Offices are located in the Hartness Center. See individual doors for posted office hours.  

Meet our Staff

Elliott Smith

Elliot Smith
Director of Student Activities
esmith@ncwc.edu
252.454.1682

Elliott joined North Carolina Wesleyan College in 2017. He directs all areas of student organizations including Greek Life, student activities and oversees the Hartness Center. He advises the Student Government Association, Greek Council and Student Entertainment Association Team (S.E.A.T). When he is not working, Elliott enjoys spending time with his wife, Kristen, and their daughter, Peyton.

Headshot of Travis Thompson

Travis Thompson
Graduate Assistant of Student Activities
tthompson@ncwc.edu
252.454.1682

In 2014, Travis became part of the Wesleyan Family as a freshman. As a student, Travis was active in student organizations and Student Government. Travis was one of the founding Eta Psi Colony members of Kappa Alpha Psi on Wesleyan’s campus. After graduating in May of 2018, Travis joined NCWC staff as Graduate Assistant of Student Activities. Contact Travis to chat about Comic-Con or if you need an extra player for any sport.