Faculty & Staff Service Awards

North Carolina Wesleyan College is truly grateful to all Faculty and Staff and their dedication to the College and the community. We like to recognize the efforts and outstanding service to the college through many ways such as honoring those who go above and beyond as well as observing years of service.

The College holds an annual Faculty and Staff Awards Ceremony each spring.  The ceremony celebrates and provides recognition to faculty and staff for their years of service to the College and for exemplary service to the college and community.

Please consider nominating faculty and staff members for specific Awards below.

Tips for Writing a Nomination

  • Be clear, specific and as concise as possible
  • Provide concrete examples of what meritorious about your nominee
  • Include measurable results when possible
  • Speak from the heart
nc wesleyan award presentations 2017

Faculty & Staff Service Awards

Longevity Award

For recognition of full time faculty and full and part time staff for their years of service.  Recognition will be awarded in 5 year, 10 year, 15 year, etc. increments of continuous service to the College.

Distinguished Staff Award

This award is designed to honor those staff members who have exhibited outstanding work performance and/or service and dedication to the College or the community. Examples include, but are not limited to, outstanding program development, positive attitude in relationships with faculty, staff and students, noteworthy achievement or exemplary leadership on the campus or in the community’s of continuous service to the College.

All staff members with at least one calendar year of employment at Wesleyan are eligible for nomination except for those with corporate faculty status or those who serve on the President’s Executive Team. Nominations are made by faculty and staff.  Each year’s recipient is determined by the President and the Executive team.  Prior recipients of the award are ineligible consideration.

> Distinguished Staff Award Form

Distinguished Staff Award Recipients
1990 – Angela D. Bennett
1991 – Carolyn Whitener
1992 – C. Cliff Sullivan
1993 – Pamela Gourley
1994 – Edna C. Farmer
1995 – Dorothy D. Grant
1996 – Janice W. Stump
1997 – William Roy Wadsworth
1998 – Carol A. Carson
1999 – Dianne H. Taylor
2000 – Grace Wallace
2001 – Darrell Whitley
2002 – Heather Daniel
2003 – Brad L. Wingo
2004 – Rachel Dix
2005 – Vickie H. Fleming
2006 – Martha Proctor
2007 – Shelia P. Martin and Susan B. Autrey
2008 – Mildred Batchelor
2009 – Emily Perry and Laura Estes
2010 – Joshua Cain and Doretha Chichester
2011 – Patricia Brantley and Annette Everett
2012 – Erma Hedgepeth and Keisha Barnes
2013 – Katie Farrell and Vickie Sessoms
2014 – Ann Watson and Greg Boykin
2015 – Stephanie Battle and Brittany Hays
2016 – Joni Gardner
2017 – Rikki Rich
2018 – Tammy Robinson
2019 – None

Wesleyan Service Award

Full-time employees may be nominated in recognition for consistently demonstrating outstanding service to the college or community that is above and beyond their job responsibilities. Nominations will be reviewed by the President and the Executive Team to determine if a Wesleyan Service Award should be granted. At the time of granting, the employee will be recognized and given a service coin. Recipients of a Wesleyan Service Award will be recognized annually at the Faculty and Staff Awards Ceremony that will occur in the spring. Each person who has received a coin up to that point will have their coin placed in a drawing. There will also be other incentives for those who reach 6 and 12 coins.

> Wesleyan Service Award Form

Exemplary Teacher of the Year

Awarded to a faculty member of the College for their dedication and commitment to their students and the College.  Nominations are made by students. Award is presented during Commencement each year.

> Exemplary Teacher Award Form

Exemplary Teacher Award Recipients
1992 –  Richard L. Watson III
1993 –  Jay R. Quinan
1994 –  Rexford F. Tucker
1995 –  Cal Wynkoop
1996 –  Vivian Anderson
1997 –  Dana M. Ford
1998 –  Leverett T. Smith, Jr.
1999 –  Kenneth V. Finney
2000 –  R. Steve Ferebee
2001 –  Erica F. Kosal
2002 –
2003 –  Amy Karnehm-Willis
2004 –  Janice Flemming
2005 –  Carol Lawrence
2006 –  Gail T. Stafford
2007 –  Stanley R. Smedley
2008 –  Amy Karnehm-Willis
2009 –
2010 –
2011 –
2013 –  Patricia Brewer
2014 –  Kathryn Carroll
2015 –  John Temple
2016 –  Johnathan Sarris
2017 –  Fred Sanborn
2018 –  Jay Quinan
2019 –  Erica Kosal
2020 –  None – (no graduation due to COVID)
2021 –

Jefferson Pilot Award

Regarded as one of the highest honor and form of recognition a faculty member may receive.  Awarded for the faculty members scholarly contributions to their students, the college, and their professional field of study. Nominations are made by Faculty Council. The faculty member will deliver a lecture for the college and community in the spring of the year. There is a grant available to the recipient for professional development.

Chuck Taylor Leadership Award

This award is for an individual whose own performance is exemplary but is also an effective leader of people.  Nominees are expected to positively demonstrate the College’s core values (Knowledge, Understanding, Integrity, Accountability, Patience, Respect, Kindness, and Empathy). A $250 cash incentive and plaque will be given. Must be submited by March 15th each year.

Selection Criteria

Must be a full-time staff or faculty employee with at least 2 years of tenure who demonstrates and lives the following:

  • Principles of servant leadership
  • Building community by promoting a work environment that is respectful, collegial and supportive
  • Orienting goals and achievements in line with the College’s mission
  • Exhibiting strong stewardship of institutional resources (time, talent, financial)
  • Developing a shared vision of institutional excellence
  • Fosters an atmosphere of collaboration and creativity, which contributes to the efficiency and effectiveness of productivity