Student Activities


Clubs and Organizations

African Student Association

Established to promote African Culture on the NCWC campus and the importance of service.
Advisor: Dr. Katrina Sweet (ksweet@ncwc.edu)

Anime and Manga Club

The Anime and Manga Club meets to discuss and promote the various aspects of Anime and Manga.
Advisor: Julie Perino (jperino@ncwc.edu)

Bishop Films

A social organization that is founded on the principles of freedom of speech, creative expression and productive collaboration. It is through these principles that we make our mark on the video industry.
Advisor: Ian Boucher (iboucher@ncwc.edu)

Black Student Association

It is our goal to strive for continued unity among all students on campus, to promote awareness, to stimulate interest and understanding, as well as serve as a support system for African Americans of the Wesleyan Community.
Advisor: Tammy Robinson (trobinson@ncwc.edu)

Covenant College Ministry (formerly The Bridge)

To glorify God by making disciples of all people through the powerful gospel of Jesus Christ.
Advisor: Barry Drum (bpdrum@ncwc.edu)/Jonathan Tyndall (off-campus)

Creative Writing Club

A place for all forms of creative writers to collaborate and develop skills to improve their writing skills.
Advisor: Michael Brantley (mbrantley@ncwc.edu)

Ducks Unlimited

The NCWC Chapter of Ducks Unlimited informs students about the need to conserve North American wetlands and the many important ways we can help in conversation, restoration and protection.
Advisor: Wayne Sears (wsears@ncwc.edu)

Exercise Science Club

The two-fold purpose of the Exercise Science Club is to promote fitness and wellness on the Wesleyan campus and in the Rocky Mount community. We promote activities that will add to the knowledge base of the students, enabling them to produce a resume that is competitive in the field of exercise science.
Advisor: Dr. Daniel Henderson (dhenderson@ncwc.edu)

Fellowship of Christian Athletes

A place to come together in fellowship and learn about God’s Word.
Advisor: Carol Carson (ccarson@ncwc.edu)

Gen UN Wes

To foster change locally and globally through 17 Sustainable Development Goals that aim to better the world as a whole.
Advisor: Dr. Young Hum Kim (ykim@ncwc.edu)

International Bishop Association

Our goal is to unite international students with American society through events and experiences while exchanging education of native cultures.
Advisor: Dawn Turner (dturner@ncwc.edu)

Nu Gamma Phi Sisterhood

Founded on Christian principles and united in our mission to spread the Word across campus.
Advisor: Dr. Katrina Sweet (ksweet@ncwc.edu)

Psychology Club

To expose those who are either interested in psychology or majoring/minoring in psychology to what it is all about, we take trips and host events to delve deeper into psychology. We want our members to gain experiential learning while having fun.
Advisor: Dr. Fred Sanborn (fwsanborn@ncwc.edu)

Refuge Campus Ministry

A Bible student started Refuge 20 years ago by The Church on the Rise to minister to the students on Wesleyan’s campus. Today, it continues to build a Christian community through weekly meetings and events throughout the year.
Advisor: Ben Lilley (blilley@ncwc.edu)

Rotaract

Rotaract is an international organization that provides an opportunity for young men and women aged 18-30 to enhance knowledge and skills that will assist them in personal development, addressing the needs of their communities and promoting better relations between all people.
Advisor: Dr. Patricia Smith (psmith@ncwc.edu)

ROTC

The purposes of the ROTC Club are to help improve the overall quality of the Army ROTC program at NCWC, enhance the professional and academic development of the cadets and provide services to its membership and to the College.
Advisor: James Mercer (jmercer@ncwc.edu)

SAFE

SAFE seeks to educate and acknowledge all groups and spectrums of specific sexualities and genders, allowing for better understanding and communication amongst LGBTQ people and allies to form a tolerating and accepting community on this campus.
Advisor: Dr. Molly Wyatt (mwyatt@ncwc.edu)

Science Club

We help members to be successful at NCWC in science courses and beyond, as well as educating our student body and emphasizing sustainable behaviors on campus.
Advisor: Dr. Dan Stovall (dstovall@ncwc.edu)

Sigma Tau Delta

Sigma Tau Delta is our English Honors Society on campus. We seek to promote interest in literature, language and writing.
Advisor: Dr. Lee Templeton (ltempleton@ncwc.edu)

Sisters of Distinction

Promote professionalism and self-improvement through behavior, dress, sisterhood and networking. We also actively promote healthy relationships with women of different cultures, ethnicities, shapes, sizes and backgrounds.
Advisor: Jessica Harrison (jharrison@ncwc.edu)

Student Athlete Advisory Committee

Our mission is to improve the experience of student athletes on campus and in our conference and to help the Rocky Mount community that we live in.
Advisor: Charles Shoemaker (cshoemaker@ncwc.edu)

Student North Carolina Association of Educators (SNCAE)

SNCAE seeks to develop prospective educators an understanding of the education profession, to provide for the united student voice in matters affecting their profession, to influence the conditions under which prospective educators are prepared, to advance the interest and welfare of students preparing for a career in education, to forward the aim of quality education, to promote and protect human and civil rights and to stimulate the highest ideals of professional ethics, standards and attitudes.
Advisor: Dr. Patricia Brewer (pbrewer@ncwc.edu)

Student Veterans

Available to both traditional and adult studies students, we work to empower veterans to be informed consumers of their education benefits and make the most of their transition to civilian life. SVA, as a national organization, has awarded over $1 million to 111 SVA Scholars since 2011. Through relationships with top corporate sponsors, we are supporting new SVA Scholars every semester.
Advisor: Dr. Angela Foster (afoster@ncwc.edu)

The B Club

The B Club’s purpose is to enhance biodiversity at Wesleyan through the projects and the promotion of ideas that will collectively bring new wildlife to campus. We are here to maintain the bees that are on campus along with maintaining future bird houses, bird baths and plants that will be added for the attraction of bats, birds and butterflies. We are also acting as advocates for sustainability and environmental protection and conservation. We also educate the campus and community on conservation, preservation and biodiversity.
Advisor: Ayra Sundbom (asundbom@ncwc.edu)

Voices of Triumph

To inspire/encourage students to get closer to Jesus Christ through outreach, worship, music, and fellowship.
Advisor: Erma Hedgepeth (ehedgepeth@ncwc.edu)

Young Americans for Liberty

The NCWC Chapter of Young Americans for Liberty (Y.A.L.) seeks to train, educate, and mobilize youth activists committed to “winning on principle.” Our goal is to cast the leaders of tomorrow and reclaim the policies, candidates, and direction of our government.
Advisor: Dr. Jarrod Kelly (jkelly@ncwc.edu)

WesCIS

An extracurricular study-based group for anyone who is interested in computer technology or information systems. The goal is to help improve ourselves, our communities and increase our knowledge of computers.
Advisor: Sherry Holland (sholland@ncwc.edu)

3W College Ministry

3W focuses on developing individuals by teaching the Word of God which produces Worship through relationship with Christ & Works based in faith! In addition to various events throughout the year, we meet once a week for in-depth teaching and open conversations that are real and relevant for everyone!
Advisor: Elliott Smith (esmith@ncwc.edu)/Kyle Johnson (off-campus)

NC Wesleyan’s Current Internationally Recognized Greek Organizations

Alpha Kappa Alpha Crest

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.
Established in 1908

Alpha Kappa Alpha was founded on the mission comprised of five basic tenets that have remained unchanged since the sorority’s inception more than a century ago. AKA’s mission is to cultivate and encourage high scholastic and ethical standards, to promote unity and friendship among college women, to study and help alleviate problems concerning girls and women in order to improve their social structure, to maintain a progressive interest in college life, and to be of “Service to all mankind”.

Alpha-Phi-Alpha fraternity seal

Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.
Established December 4, 1906

Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity develops leaders, promotes brotherhood, and academic excellence, while providing service and advocacy for our communities. The objectives of this fraternity shall be: to stimulate the ambition of its members; to prepare them for the greatest usefulness in the causes of humanity, freedom, and dignity of the individual; to encourage the highest and noblest form of manhood; and to aid downtrodden humanity in its efforts to achieve higher social, economic and intellectual status.

Delta Phi Epsilon Sorority Crest

Delta Phi Epsilon Sorority
Established March 17, 1917 

Delta Phi Epsilon’s mission is to provide a sisterhood experience rich in tradition, innovation, and opportunities for growth. They seek to inspire and empower their sisterhood to engage in a lifetime of leadership and service.

Kappa Alpha Psi Crest

Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity
Established January 5, 1911

Kappa Alpha Psi is more than another social organization. It is a Greek letter organization founded on the concept of achievement. Its motto is “Achievement in every human endeavor.” Kappa Alpha Psi’s five objectives are to unite men of culture, patriotism, and honor in the bond of Fraternity, to encourage honorable achievement in every field of human endeavor, to promote the spiritual, social, intellectual and moral welfare of its member’s, to assist the aims and purposes of colleges and universities, and to inspire service in the public’s interest.

Omega Psi Phi Fraternity
Established November 17, 1911

Omega Psi Phi was the first international fraternal organization founded on the campus of a historically black college. There motto is “Friendship is essential to the soul.” Manhood, Scholarship, Perseverance, and Uplift are there cardinal principles.

Weselyan-2-1339

Student Entertainment & Activities Team

A team comprised of students who select, plan and implement activities and entertainment with both social and educational dimensions. These events vary and may include comedians, novelty acts, concerts, trips, dances, homecoming week, speakers and much more.

All students are encouraged to play an active role in S.E.A.T.  It is a great way to meet other students and learn skills outside of the classroom. Whether it is stage management, publications and promotions, or program planning, S.E.A.T. provides fellowship and helps foster a spirit of community. If you are interested in becoming a member of S.E.A.T. or applying for an executive council position, please contact Elliot Smith, Director of Student Activities, at esmith@ncwc.edu.

Student Government Association

North Carolina Wesleyan College’s Student Government Association exists to be the voice of the student body on campus. SGA handles student organization’s budgets, develops student programs to enhance student life and represents the student body both on and off campus.

President: Will Plyler (Sophomore, Undeclared Major)
Vice President: Joseph Lloyd (Senior, Psychology and Mathematics Major)
Treasurer: Ariel Wilson (Junior, Psychology Major)
Secretary: Aayushma Shrestha (Junior, Accounting Major)

Circular Logo Image with SGA in the center

Hartness Student Center

Open Daily 10:00 a.m. - Midnight
  • Game Room – Come play pool, table tennis, corn hole, Xbox One and Nintendo Wii games, watch television or simply hang out!
  • Cyber Lounge – Available for students to host events, hang out, watch TV, play video games or study!
  • WoW Cafe – An evening dining location that serves American cuisine and specialty chicken wings. The eatery is open Monday – Thursday, 7:00 p.m.- 11:30 p.m. 
  • Leadership Lab – An area equipped with resources where student club and organization leadership teams can plan for upcoming activities.
  • Offices – S.E.A.T, SGA, and the Director of Student Activities. Offices are located in the Hartness Center. See individual doors for posted office hours.  

Meet our Staff

Elliott-Smith

Elliot Smith
Director of Student Activities
esmith@ncwc.edu
252.454.1682

Elliott joined North Carolina Wesleyan College in 2017. He directs all areas of student organizations including Greek Life, student activities and oversees the Hartness Center. He advises the Student Government Association, Greek Council and Student Entertainment Association Team (S.E.A.T). When he is not working, Elliott enjoys spending time with his wife, Kristen, and their daughter, Peyton.

Headshot of Travis Thompson

Travis Thompson
Graduate Assistant of Student Activities
tthompson@ncwc.edu
252.454.1682

In 2014, Travis became part of the Wesleyan Family as a freshman. As a student, Travis was active in student organizations and Student Government. Travis was one of the founding Eta Psi Colony members of Kappa Alpha Psi on Wesleyan’s campus. After graduating in May of 2018, Travis joined NCWC staff as Graduate Assistant of Student Activities. Contact Travis to chat about Comic-Con or if you need an extra player for any sport.